top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureC. Guy

The Family That Eats Together Struggles Together

The aroma of the food travelled down the hallway and into my bedroom. As I lay on the bed, the smell of a freshly homecooked meal distracted me from whatever tedious task I was involved in.

“Corey, it’s time to eat,” my father would yell from the kitchen. “Hurry up and tell your sister to come on.”

I would get up, after reluctantly convincing my sister to do the same, and meet my parents in the kitchen for the always interesting family meal.

Flash forward to present day and our family meals aren’t quite the same. Still I find myself sitting in my room waiting for the familiar smell of a home cook meal, however, it’s rare in occurrence.

“Corey, foods here,” my father says opening the door to my room.

“Alright give me a second,” I’d respond obviously more preoccupied with something that doesn’t concern eating.

Accompanied by my cellphone and Air pods, I lackadaisically eat the food that is usually accompanied with sauce packets. Nevertheless, things aren’t the same. With my sister living in a completely different state, myself being three years deep into college, mom’s newfound veganism, and all of us being in a trapped indoors due to a virus; the family meals aren’t as exciting anymore.

Usually, this would be a highlight for any family. A time to focus on each other and share frustrations , interesting events, and personalities that each member of the family has encountered in their unique daily lives. The time together brings the family nucleus closer and reinforces the basic community ideal that being together as a family promotes.

This, like many other aspects of solid family interaction, has become a norm to most people blessed with a solid family structure. Regardless, of if that family structure is traditional or non-traditional.

However, due to the apparent medical pandemic encompassing our familiar lifestyles, we have been forced to take refuge inside; closer to our families. Thus, eliminating that spark that comes with family interaction. Bringing up the question: Is the actuality of us having to stay together helpful or could it be the causing factor for drive us apart?

Medically, staying indoors reduces the opportunity to encounter physical harm cause by the virus. The government and the Center of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) both highly recommend it. Nonetheless, it hard to not think of the emotional trauma this pandemic can cause to countless of families around the country. Being in such close proximity of each other is doomed to create tension.

College students and young adult are specifically affected by this phenomenon. Numerous of young adults have encountered hindrances in this precious time of matriculation, caused directly by the virus. Thus, in turn, having to return to whatever family nucleus they possess.

The time apart has created an obvious divide in lifestyles, opinions, and mindsets. Which in turn causes tension between families. This is specifically dangerous in a time like this because of the necessity of being in close proximity of one another. That will eventually force this type of tensions to the forefront. In turn, creating lasting implications on the relationships someone might have with their family.

Adding the fact that the country is also experiencing harsh economic times, where the unemployment rate is the highest it’s been in years. This pandemic could be seen as the final straw that broke the camel’s back for most. It’s a sad reality for both side of the problem. This pandemic isn’t just creating an lasting impression on the medical field but damaging interpersonal relationships in the process.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page